A Ramadan Prayer

O Allah!

Alhamdulillah for the blessing of imaan, the greatest blessing.

Alhamdulillah for the blessing of Islam, Your preferred Religion.

Alhamdulillah for giving us the Greatest Messenger (ﷺ) and making us the nation of him, the nation that shall bear witness of the Truth over the nations that have preceded it.

Alhamdulillah for the Quran, the Book that falsehood cannot approach either from its front or its back.

Alhamdulillah for the opportunity to witness this Ramadan.

Alhamdulillah for the blessings of family, parents, job, good heath, and a disease free life.

Alhamdulillah for all Your Blessings, none of which I can deny nor I can give You enough praise for a single of them.

Alhamdullillah because You have kept my sins hidden from the world, and You have preserved my religiosity in public, although I have saved my worst face for You.

Alhamduliallah because You have kept all Your blessings intact upon me, and have not immediately brought Your Judgment upon me, although I have showed the audacity to transgress Your boundary countless times.

O Allah!

Please send Your infinite Peace and Blessing upon Your Greatest Messenger Muhammad (ﷺ), who is Your Mercy for the whole universe, the Best Man to ever set foot in this world, the Bearer of Your Truth, the Leader of the humankind on the Day of the Judgment, and the Guide of the humanity. Send Your Peace and Blessings also upon the family of the Messenger (ﷺ), upon Abu Bakr [رضى الله عنه], Umar [رضى الله عنه], Othman [رضى الله عنه], and Ali [رضى الله عنه], and upon all the companions [رضى الله عنه] of the Messenger (ﷺ).

O Allah!

I seek Your Forgiveness for my sins-the sins that I have committed with knowledge or without knowledge, the sins that I have committed secretly or openly, the sins that I have committed deliberately or unintentionally, the sins that I can remember or I cannot remember, the sins that are major and the sins that are minor. O Allah! Do not pass this Ramadan without erasing every single sin from my book.

O Allah!

Please forgive my sins because You are Ar-Raheem. Forgive my sins because You are Ar-Rahmaan. Forgive my sins because You are Al-Gafoor. Forgive my sins because You are Al-Gaffaar.

O Allah!

I repent to You from my sins-both the major ones and the minor ones. In this world I have no excuse for my sins, and I shall have no excuse either when I will stand before You on the Day of Judgment. No matter how much I commit sins, I have nowhere to go accept coming back to You, because only You O Allah has the authority to accept my repentance and forgive my sins. O Allah! Please accept this repentance from me, and when I am pronouncing these words of repentance before You, help me pronounce them with a heart that is full of taqwa, hope, honesty, sincerity, ihsaan, and ikhlaas.

O Allah!

Death is a certainty. Please make me die on the Deen of Islam. Make me testify Your Oneness in the stupor of my death. Make me die when You are pleased with me. Make me die when I am doing a good deed. Make me die after I have repented properly and sincerely, and You have accepted it. O Allah! Make my death an easy experience.

O Allah!

I seek refuge in You from the torment of the grave.

I seek refuge in You from the torment of the grave.

I seek refuge in You from the torment of the grave.

O Allah!  Make Your Mercy my shroud in my grave; make Your interrogation angels Munkar and Nakir kind towards me. Make me successful and steadfast in answering their questions. Make my grave spacious. Make my grave full of light. Make my grave a peaceful abode. Make my grave connected with Janntul Ferdous.

O Allah!

On the Day of the Judgment when there will be no shade except the shade of Your Divine Throne, include me among those who will receive that shade. On that Day, when I will be thirsty, make me drink from the River of Kauthar. On that day, when the books shall be distributed, make me among those who will receive their books in their right hands. On that day, include me among the victorious. On that day, include me among those who will receive the intercession of Your Messenger (ﷺ).

O Allah!

On that terrible day, when my name shall be called, and I will be standing before You to give my account, do not reckon me for my deeds. On that Day, do not cross examine by book. I do not have any excuse for my sins in this world, and when I will be standing before You, I will have no excuse either. I therefore have no other way except Your Forgiveness and Mercy to pass the test of hellfire. O the Most Merciful, please bestow Your Mercy upon me on that day, and perfect Your Blessing upon me.

O Allah!

Make the Fire of Hell forbidden for me. Make the fire of Hell forbidden for me. Make the fire of Hell forbidden for me. O Allah! I seek refuge from Hell fire in You, because only You can save me from it. O Allah! Help me safely cross the sirat, and enter me in Your Mercy, in Your Gardens, and perfect Your blessing over me.

O Allah!

Whatever small amount of worship that I have done out of Your Mercy, let alone those befitting Your Majesty, they are full of many shortcomings. But Allah! You are the Most Forbearing, so please overlook my faults and my shortcomings, and please accept my qiyam, siyam, and recitation of the Quran.

O Allah!

I seek refuge in You from the Shaitan, the accursed, the sworn enemy of humankind. I seek refuge in You from the greed of my nafs. I seek refuge in You  from the fitnah of the opposite gender, and from the fitnah of the fahsha. I seek refuge in You from evil thoughts. I seek refuge in You from kufr, shirk, nifaq, riya, kibr, and hasad. I seek refuge in You from evil eye. I seek refuge in You from all the things that Your Messenger (ﷺ) sought refuge You from.

O Allah!

I seek from You taqwa, akhlaqe hameedah, ikhlaas, and ihsaan. I seek from You patience so that I can serve my parents with ihsaan.  I seek from You patience so that I can always remain patient and pleased over Your Decree. Indeed Your Decree is just and whatever misfortune and afflictions struck me, it is my sins that earn them. O Allah! I seek from You all the good things that Your Messenger (ﷺ) sought You from.

O Allah!

Forgive my parents. Reciprocate them from Your unlimited Bounties for whatever they have done for me. Forgive their sins, honor them both in this world and the world to come, and make them among the inhabitants of the Garden.

O Allah!

If You guide, no one can misguide. If You leave someone astray, no one can guide. O Allah! Guide me and do not lead me astray after You have guided me. And keep my heart firm and steadfast in Your path till I meet You.

O Allah!

Please remove the last drop of arrogance, ego, and pride from my heart and make among the most humble slaves of You.

O Allah!

Make modesty my cloak.

O Allah!

I have been extremely ungrateful towards You, and my ungratefulness and my hypocrisy have now overwhelmed me. O Allah! Please forgive me, because only Your Forgiveness can release the burden of my ungratefulness from my shoulder. O Allah! I seek from You the ever repentant and the ever remorseful heart of Thaylaba ibn Abdur Rahman [رضى الله عنه], so that my heart can always feel repentant and remorseful till I die.  O Allah! I implore You to make this Ramadan a new beginning in my life in terms of obeying You and abiding by Your Boundary. O Allah!  Make me among the grateful ones. O Allah! Help me always remember Your Favors and Blessings upon me and make me among those who always turn to You.

O Allah!

Help me keep a watchful eye over my tongue every time I open my mouth.

O Allah!

Let my heart not entertain any bad thoughts out of suspicion about any believing brother and sister.

O Allah!

Give me the tawfeeq to give every salah its proper due.

O Allah!

Be it this world or the next, there are no friend and helper except You. So, please do not abandon me! Please do not abandon me! Please do not abandon me!

O Allah!

Help me fear You as You should be feared.

O Allah!

Make the relationship between You and me stronger every day.

O Allah!

Among the believing brothers and sisters who have preceded us in meeting You, please forgive them. Grant them maghfirah, fill their grave with light, and admit them in Your Garden.

O Allah!

Make me witness many more return of this blessed month.

Allahumma Salli Ala Sayyidina Muhammad, Wa Ala Alihi Wa Sahbihi Wa Sallim.

3 thoughts on “A Ramadan Prayer”

Leave a Reply

