Old is Gold: 90’s Childhood in Qatar

(All the images have been collected from Facebook. If you have objection to any of these images, please let me know so that I can remove it.)

The fancier box you had, the more popular you would be in the class.

The fancier box you had, the more popular you would be in the class.

The objective of buying toys was to break it and remove motors like these.

The objective of buying toys was to break them and remove motors like these.

Old notes.

Old notes.

In supermarket, whenever we would pass by this Nido color box set, it was difficult for us to take our eyes away from it.

In supermarket, whenever we would pass by this Nido color box set, we would struggle to take our eyes away from it.

Istimara time.

Istimara time.

View master.

View master.

Best snack ever.

Best snack ever.

Only the kids of 90's will know the relationship between this cassette and a pen.

Only the kids of 90’s will know the relationship between this cassette and a pen.

Old Qatari taxi.

Old Qatari taxi.

Our dream fountain pen.

Our dream fountain pen.

Before the cricket days, our attention was in football.

Before the cricket days, our attention was in football.

This roundabout does not exist anymore.

This roundabout does not exist anymore.

QTV logo.

QTV logo.

Tiffin time.

Tiffin time.

Aladdin Kingdom.

Aladdin Kingdom.

Old currency of Qatar.

Old currency of Qatar.

Legendary Chips Oman.

Legendary Chips Oman.

1185680_10153498771255445_627032000_n

Trademark iron.

Trademark iron.

Brick game.

Brick game.

Water gun.

Water gun.

If you have lived in Qatar in the 90's, I am sure you have seen notebooks like this.

If you have lived in Qatar in the 90’s, I am sure you have seen notebooks like this.

Common notebooks of Qatar. They are still available in the market.

Common notebooks of Qatar. They are still available in the market.

Old five riyal notes.

Old five riyal notes.

Popeye the sailor.

Popeye the sailor.

Fan speed regulator.

Fan speed regulator.

Old Q-Tel phone.

Old Q-Tel phone.

Hamad General Hospital.

Hamad General Hospital.

Souq Faleh. To buy school back packs, uniform, or blanket, we would go to this market.

Souq Faleh. To buy school back packs, uniform, or blanket, we would go to this market.

Nothing could beat Tom and Jerry.

Nothing could beat Tom and Jerry.

The are supposed to aid you in writing, but we would use them to fight against each other.

The are supposed to aid you in writing, but we would use them to fight against each other.

My first watch.

My first watch.

1013896_691372260879982_516806961_n

This is how our tables and chairs looked like in school.

This is how our tables and chairs looked like in school.

Qatar women's hospital.

Qatar women’s hospital.

Computer.

First Pentium II Computer.

Pure Ghee.

Pure Ghee.

Carom board. I played it a lot but I was never very good in it.

Carom board. I played it a lot but I was never very good in it.

Brief case. My father had a brief case like this and we would often jump on it like kids jump on a trampoline.

Brief case. My father had a brief case like this and we would often jump on it like kids jump on a trampoline.

Old Qatar museum. Our favorite was the aquarium. This museum was not boring like the present Museum of Islamic Arts.

Old Qatar museum. Our favorite was the aquarium. This museum was not boring like the present Museum of Islamic Arts.

On the way to Umm Ghuwalina.

On the way to Umm Ghuwalina.

We came to Qatar with this a Gulf Air that had livery like this.

We came to Qatar with this a Gulf Air plane that had livery like this.

The watch with calculator. The guy who first brought this watch in the class was a hero.

The watch with calculator. The guy who first brought this watch in the class was a hero.

I guess this was in Wadi Al Sail.

I guess this was in Wadi Al Sail.

Thunder, thunder, thudercats. We were ever fascinated about the fight between Mamra and Thundercats.

Thunder, thunder, thudercats. We were ever fascinated about the fight between Mamra and Thundercats.

Air tickets-this is how they used to look like back then.

Air tickets-this is how they used to look like back then.

Yan Yan- it is still my favorite.

Yan Yan- it is still my favorite.

WWF-World Wrestling Federation. Our young mind was fascinated with this belt. Often after making a symbolic belt like it, I would wrestle with my brother to win the belt. Also in the 90's, there was a sumo wrestler named Yokozona, and because of being overweight, I used to be bullied as Yokozona during my kindergarten days.

WWF-World Wrestling Federation. Our young mind was fascinated with this belt. Often after making a symbolic belt like it, I would wrestle with my brother to win the belt. Also in the 90’s, there was a sumo wrestler named Yokozona, and because of being overweight, I used to be bullied as Yokozona during my kindergarten days.

Y have made it and you know it.

You have made it and you know it.

Harees. During Ramadan, we would often receive harees from as iftaar from Qatari neighbors. Lived in Doha for more than two decades and still cannot eat harees.

Harees. During Ramadan, we would often receive harees as iftaar from Qatari neighbors. Lived in Doha for more than two decades and still cannot eat harees.

Old orange colored taxis of Doha. We did not have a car for about a decade and taxi was the mean to get around.

Old orange colored taxis of Doha. We did not have a car for about a decade and taxi was the mean to get around.

Quality street chocolate.

Quality street chocolate.

Radio. During Ramadan, our hobby was listening to taraweeh prayers led by Shaykh Sudais and Shaykh Shuraim.

Radio. During Ramadan, our hobby was listening to taraweeh prayers led by Shaykh Sudais and Shaykh Shuraim in radio.

Cookies. Whenever guests (mehmans) would bring this cookies, we would be excited.

Cookies. Whenever guests (mehmans) would bring these cookies, we would be excited.

Do you know the word bleep? Whenever we would see a person with bleep, we would think of him as a very important person.

Do you know the word bleep? Whenever we would see a person with bleep, we would think of him as a very important person.

Abu Bakr Al-Siddique Mosque. We had an acquaintance living near this mosque. Whenever we would visit her house, we would be excited about praying in this mosque. That acquaintance of ours has passed away. O Allah! Have mercy on her. Still today whenever we pass by this mosque, we remember her.

Abu Bakr Al-Siddique Mosque. We had an acquaintance living near this mosque. Whenever we would visit her house, we would be excited about praying in this mosque. That acquaintance of ours has passed away. O Allah! Have mercy on her. Still today whenever we pass by this mosque, we remember her.

Vending machine.

Vending machine.

A must have for Asian mothers.

A must have for Asian mothers.

Shaykh Khalifa bin Hamad- he was the emir of Qatar when I arrived in Doha in 1992.

Shaykh Khalifa bin Hamad- he was the emir of Qatar when I arrived in Doha in 1992.

Old Souq Waqif.

This is old Souq Waqif I guess.

The first NOKIA mobile.

The first NOKIA mobile.

Walkman.

Walkman.

I still like LEGO.

I still like LEGO.

34 thoughts on “Old is Gold: 90’s Childhood in Qatar”

  1. subhanAllah! This brings back so many memories. I had a smile on my face the moment I saw the first picture. Alhamdulilah I still have the view master 😀

    My mom would get harees in ramadan and add her own spices/tarka to it and transform it to a desi version of haleem. It tastes great both ways.

    The boys in my school would always use Clip boards, fountain pens and those hard cover black and red notebooks to fight with each other while the girls would decorate their clipboards with stickers..lol

    I am so glad that pafki chips, those cookies and omani chips still exist :’)

  2. My goodness!! This is super Nostalgic.. , I share the same memories.. I am an Indian and I arrived in Qatar in 1996 and was a student at the Ideal Indian School.
    Hero pen- the feeling of promotion to the 5th Standard, wooden scale with the golden metal strip inserted at an edge..chips Oman(still my favorite). NIDO set. Great list..
    By the things enlisted in your post, you so seem to be a friend or someone I know so closely. Same generation could have so much to relate to.. hahaha.. which school were you in??

    I dont live there now and miss the Al marai milk and the Maggi curry flavor..
    Though from the 90s.. Pencil fights and Tamagotchi could be added to the list..
    and few more shows on QTV!!!! like we used to wait excitedly for the Bollywood films broadcast on Thursday nights or Friday noons ,, Art Attack, and a Cooking show (don remember the name) , and was it Fables of the forest (the cartoon based on a forest. I faintly remember the Rocky n polly song from it :P.)

    Yesterday a friend told me that Alladdin kingdom is not there anymore 😦 ,
    welcome , Gulshan and Star of India were our favorite restaurants, I hope they still exist..

    Superb list! thanks for creating this 🙂
    Cheers!

    1. Thanks for dropping by my blog. I was a student of Bangladesh School, which is a small community school for the local Bangladeshis in Qatar. Irrespective of the school we went to, our childhood days were more or less same, since we all lived in the same time frame.

      I also went to Ideal Indian School once to attend a cricket game. I had liked your sandy cricket field. IIS is no more there in its old place; it has been shifted to Abu Hamour.

      I also remember pen fights. We were once punished by our class teacher for playing pen fights.

      Regarding TV shows in QTV, unfortunately I do not remember much of them.

      And yes, the Star of India restaurant is still available in Qatar. Do not know about Gulshan restaurant.

  3. I can relate to so much of this! U really captured most of the stuff ..lol. good job. I was born in Qatar and lived there until I was about 18…childhood was fun thanks to the all those things u mentioned…the wooden scale gave me the goosebumps ..teachers would hit us with them if we forgot homework or failed to answer a question! Ugh that was no fun! .id like to add tv shows like are you afraid of the dark! ..The maze…America s funniest home videos!!! We would watch so many shows cartoons in Arabic even though we didn’t speak or understand! …tv and radio were mostly the only entertainment on super hot melting days… on the other days were picnics..playing in corniche playground. .walking around on corniche ..Beach!!!.praying in mosques…going to the only mall!! shopping at Lulu ..family food center..carefour! Thanks for bringing back fun memories 🙂

  4. Shubhanallah! The moment I saw these pictures, tears came out and I felt like running back to those days. As I went back to QATAR in 2006 to feel those old days, I felt some kind of emptiness inside my heart as most of those sites changed with high rising malls and hotels! I miss chips Oman and that orange juice! Allah…. give me back those happy childhood memories in Jannah…. Ameen ya Rab!

  5. I Could not help but notice “Ooredoo” on the Nokia 3310 … This means someone has an active version of this phone. Snake 2 was a compelling competition back in the hey days and the phone itself was an evolutionary jump from the big and bulky phones.

    1. Good Detail. Best quality Phone. You could throw it on the ground and it would still be in good shape. haha!

  6. There is not one picture that I cannot associate to. Thank you for these collections. It is like stamp and coin collections. hahaha. Very precious. I came in 1982 and it brings in memories. Most of these don’t exist any more. Infact many places were levelled to the ground when the Asiad 2006 came in. I studied at Ideal Indian School till 95 when I was in 10th. I really hope with all my heart that I can come back to Doha, Qatar to have my sons study there, God willingly. And if possible at Ideal itself, and come out as top scorers of Doha. So much I love this country where my parents are still serving. Thanks to this nation which has been still kind to have my parents working there. God bless Qatar.

  7. Subhan’Allah…so precious memories !! Thank you brother for reminding us of those golden days.. I came to Qatar in 1992 and studied in M.E.S Indian School. Both of my younger siblings studied in Bangladesh MHM school and college !!! Each picture reminded me of my best childhood memories..memories that were kind of unlocked after seeing your post !!….Thank you so much…Jazak’Allah Brother

  8. Super Duper Nostalgic! Loved seeing all the pictures. Life was simple back then. Peaceful too. Qatar has changed a lot. I came to Qatar in 1991. Went to Ideal Indian School. I could relate to everything in here, right from the super cool pencil case, view master, fountain pens, wooden scales, pafki chips, omani chips, orange taxis, Alladins kingdom, the old museum,.. everything was just super nostalgic. So glad I was part of that generation. Thanks for these pictures.. timeless and classic. I miss the old Qatar.

    Have a blessed day everyone.

  9. Oh my….. Its truly nostalgic.. I can relate to a lot of things. I remember collecting the nido foils to exchange it for the nido set. It was one of the coolest thing a kid cud hav. I used to snack on Oman chips and pafki almost everyday. I almost forgot about yan yan… Its one of the best things i hav ever had. Is “hello panda” still there? I used to love hello panda. Alladin Kingdom *sign* used to go there once every year. I am happy to see this post at the same time am tearing up, my friend, coz this was my childhood and i hope to god i can go back there once more. I was l born in qatar.. Hamad hospital 🙂 and studied in ideal Indian school. By 9th standard i had to leave for India. Now its been 11 yrs. Qatar has been my first home. I am almost in tears now… Thanks a lot for this post.

  10. Qatar is not any more old gold all old hertige site are destoyed or lets say demolished to build new qatar even souqwaf completly rebuid as replca of souq but it never can replaced the old souq ( the money they spended on demolishing and rebuiling. easy can build 2 new cities beside old Doha city ( this is not end distruction is going on everywhere it seem to me they want hide the past)

  11. I came in Qatar or you can say in this world in August 1963. i saw many colors of Doha. Yes you are right old is gold. you took me my back memories . We resident was in Rumaillah. In those days so many areas but now no more. like Al Bida, Wadi alSail, Rumaillah and Rumailah station.

  12. Can anyone help me? Does anyone know if this place still exists????
    I am looking for my old house. I lived in umm ghuwalina and this house was a square house with a flat roof just like all the other houses in the compound it was in. All house where inside walled compound and there was one house at the entrance of the compound for the neighborhood chief or guard or i am not sure. There where also some bigger houses with triangular roofs too n a basketball hoop in themiddle of open space of ashphalt where all the indian or south asian kids would play cricket. There was a mini pile of metal junk and we would chase cats. There was a store across the street outside the compound but near the wall amd through the cracks we would slide money and the store worker would slide the lolipops n candy thru to us. When we came it was dirt roads in compound then they added ashphalt roads. We moved out and now i am having hard time finding it online. I kinda miss those old orange taxis…except the smell.
    I miss qatar chips n junk food like ice berg ice cream igloo icecream oman chips salad chips rajah chips etc.

  13. A very good collection! Anyone remember the fillers they used to show on TV? The medley of scenes from different movies and TV shows??
    I’ve got it somewhere in my mountain of old VHS tapes. USed to get so excited when it got played on TV. Also Elias Chalouhi on QBS.!! That guy had a great voice and was a really good new reader too!

Leave a Reply

