Letter to Mom and Dad

Dear Mom:

I am writing this letter just to let you know that I love you. I know you have always yearned to hear these words, but having been brought up in an environment where I was never taught how to express love, I have failed to express my love for you verbally. However, please know that I love you v-e-r-y dearly, and I love you from the core of my heart.

We may have our differences, but know that at the end of day, I LOVE YOU.

I do not know why, but now a days, sometimes the horrible scenario of losing you come to my mind. I dread if I will live to see that day. The thought of losing you, who have carried me nine months in her womb with utmost love, makes me numb, and if I live to see that dreadful day, I just do not know how I will cope with it.

It is not possible for me to requite your love for me. It is not possible for me to requite the sacrifices you have made for me. I only ask Allah with all sincerity that He gives you a long, healthy life full of obedience to Allah and His Messenger (ﷺ), and I ask Him to reciprocate all your sacrifices with nothing but the highest level of Jannah.

Sincerely,

Your Son

***

Dear Dad:

I know that I have not been the best son to you. I have lost temper many times with you, and I still do. I know that you mean well to me. Please forgive my behavior. And please know that never have I fallen short of my best behavior to you except that I have felt bad afterwards for the whole day.

May Allah bless you with a good life both in this world and the next.

Sincerely,

Your Son

***

No one can articulate a better prayer for their parents than what the Most Merciful has taught us in His Glorious Book:

وَقَضَىٰ رَبُّكَ أَلَّا تَعْبُدُوا إِلَّا إِيَّاهُ وَبِالْوَالِدَيْنِ إِحْسَانًا ۚ إِمَّا يَبْلُغَنَّ عِندَكَ الْكِبَرَ أَحَدُهُمَا أَوْ كِلَاهُمَا فَلَا تَقُل لَّهُمَا أُفٍّ وَلَا تَنْهَرْهُمَا وَقُل لَّهُمَا قَوْلًا كَرِيمًا

وَاخْفِضْ لَهُمَا جَنَاحَ الذُّلِّ مِنَ الرَّحْمَةِ وَقُل رَّبِّ ارْحَمْهُمَا كَمَا رَبَّيَانِي صَغِيرًا

And your Lord has decreed that you not worship except Him, and to parents, good treatment. Whether one or both of them reach old age [while] with you, say not to them [so much as], “uff,” and do not repel them but speak to them a noble word. And lower to them the wing of humility out of mercy and say, “My Lord, have mercy upon them as they brought me up [when I was] small.” [The Noble Quran 17:23-24]