O My Soul!

258-realist

O my soul! How do the glitters of this world make you sad when Allah and His Messenger (ﷺ) promised us the hereafter, the eternal?

O my soul! Don’t you know that the promise of Allah is true, and He never breaks His promise?

O my soul! Don’t you know that Allah decrees, and His decree is precise and just?

O my soul! Don’t you know that whatever Allah has decreed for you will not miss you, and whatever He did not decree for you, will never come to you?

O my soul! Don’t you know that Allah has purchased the souls of the believers?

O my soul! Don’t you know that there is no gain except through obeying Allah and His Messenger (ﷺ)?

O my soul! Don’t you know that Allah tests only for a little while, and that if you succeed, He will grant you abundantly both in this world and the next?

O my soul! Isn’t it enough comfort for you that Allah knows what you are going through?

O my soul! How do you give up so easily when Allah has always rescued you from every difficult situation in your life even after you committed countless sins and was not grateful to Him?

O my soul! Don’t you know that Allah has promised ease after hardship?

O my soul! Have you forgotten that a believer, as informed by the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ), rejoices whether a good or bad befalls him, for during good he is thankful, and during bad he is patient?

O my soul! How do you get depressed when Allah has declared that He is the wali, the Protector of the believers?

O my soul! Are you not ashamed to give up good thoughts about Allah, the Master of the Throne, so easily?

O my soul! Don’t you know that only disbelieving people lose hope from Allah!

O my soul! How do you get depressed over not getting something of this world, when your depression indicates that you are entitled something from Allah, whereas no one is entitled anything from Him, and whatever we receive is nothing but out of His Mercy?

O my soul! How do you forget that the calamity that has afflicted you is nothing but the consequences of the sins and defiant disobedience your own hands have committed?

O my soul! Are you not ashamed of your impatience before Allah?

O my soul! How quickly you forget that Allah is nearer to us than our jugular vein and that when we call out to Him, He loves to hear our voice and respond to our pleas?

O my soul! Isn’t it shameful how quickly you focus when Allah deprives you of something but only rarely it occurs to your mind the much greater blessings He has already bestowed you with without you even asking for majority of them?

O my soul! Don’t you remember that Allah is capable, and He can change your situation within a blink of an eye?

O my soul! Don’t you know that dawn is nearest when the night is darkest, and that the help of Allah arrives just when you are about to give up?

O my soul! Did Allah not promise in His mighty Book that He will make a way out for whoever has true taqwa of Him?

So ask yourself O my soul! Have you truly feared your Lord? Have you exercised the true taqwa? Have you truly kept your duty to Him? Have you obeyed Him with the love He deserves?